Archive for May, 2021

Committee roll over for 2021/22

Sunday, May 23rd, 2021

At the club AGM on 20th May it was a case of “as you were” when incumbents in every position were re-elected. The position of Education Director had already changed last September when Peter Wilson took over from Jocelyn Brooks.


The new season will kick off on Thursday 16th September at Linton Memorial Hall assuming it is open and available. There will also be a series of three or four Zoom meetings in June and July – dates TBA.

This is the full committee:

President: John Holian

Immediate past President: Peter Wilson

Treasurer: Howard Herbert

Education Director: Peter Wilson

Social Secretary: Niki Boersma

Publicity Officer: Neil Wilson

Secretary & Webmaster: Chris Clissitt

Summer Zoom meetings – next meeting 22nd July

Sunday, May 23rd, 2021

After a season and a bit of meeting online via Zoom, the club decided to continue with Zoom meetings in June and July and then take a break in August. The new season will start on September 16th,  hopefully back in Linton Memorial Hall.

There will be 3 meetings over the summer on the following dates:

Thursday 24th June

Thursday 8th July

Thursday 22nd July

All meetings commence at 8pm. Please e-mail our Immediate Past President, Peter Wilson, for joining details

Sandra Barton

Friday, May 7th, 2021

We were saddened to learn of the death of Sandra Barton on 9th April.Sandra Barton 2003 (2)

Sandra was a great friend to Wetherby Speakers Club. Over the years she regularly attended our dinners, judged our contests and was a constant source of advice, wisdom and humour.  She was a member of Leeds SC and when the club folded she joined Wharfedale SC.

Sandra was probably the first lady to visit Wetherby Speakers Club when we became a mixed club many years ago.

She was a great servant to the ASC and was National President in 2002-3, only the second lady to hold that office. The picture is from her presidential year handing the Speaker of the Year trophy to Simon Weston in Cardiff in January 2003.